Your Hosts

The first EUT (European Unitarians Together) is organized jointly by
Unitarier – Religionsgemeinschaft freien Glaubens e.V. (URfG)
and
European Unitarian Universalists (EUU).

Read more about both organizations below!

About EUU

Founded in 1982, European Unitarian Universalists (EUU) is a religious community and network connecting Unitarian Universalists (UUs) and UU fellowships in Europe. Approximately half of the more than 200 members belong to local lay-led fellowships that share resources and programs (including Religious Education). The remaining members, known as "at large" members, are spread over most of the countries of Europe but are not affiliated with a particular fellowship. EUU publishes a periodic newsletter, the Unifier, and sponsors twice-yearly retreats in various locations. Recent retreats in Belgium, France, the Netherlands and Germany have each attracted up to 180 Universalists and Unitarians from across Europe.

The members of EUU agree to affirm and promote the following values and principles:

  • The inherent worth and dignity of every person;
  • Justice, equity and compassion in human relations;
  • Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations;
  • A free and responsible search for truth and meaning;
  • The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large; The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all;
  • Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part.

Our shared tradition draws from many sources: 

  • Direct experience of that transcending mystery and wonder, affirmed in all cultures, which moves us to a renewal of the spirit and an openness to the forces which create and uphold life;
  • Words and deeds of prophetic women and men which challenge us to confront powers and structures of evil with justice, compassion, and the transforming power of love;
  • Wisdom from the world's religions which inspires us in our ethical and spiritual life;
  • Jewish and Christian teachings which call us to respond to God's love by loving our neighbors as ourselves;
  • Humanist teachings which counsel us to heed the guidance of reason and the results of science, and warn us against idolatries of the mind and spirit;
  • Spiritual teachings of earth-centered traditions which celebrate the sacred circle of life and instruct us to live in harmony with the rhythms of nature.

About URfG

The “Unitarier – Religionsgemeinschaft freien Glaubens” traces its roots back to the Free Protestant Movement in the Rhine-Hesse region in the 19th century. At the time, the Free Protestants rebelled against local rulers’ sovereignty in matters of the church, and against dogmas and customs which contradicted reason and liberty. In 1876, adherents of the movement left the Church of the State of Hesse and formed their own congregations.  

Very early on, the Free Protestants adhered to an idea of God which broke with the church’s concept of a personal God existing outside of the world. Instead, they described God as the “universal life”. In 1910, Rev. Walbaum was introduced to the ideas and leaders of the Anglo-Saxon Unitarians. He drew parallels between their rejection of the trinity and the Free Protestant idea of God as the “universal one” which acts through “man’s striving to live a moral life.” He understood his own Free Protestant convictions as a “distillation” of Anglo-Saxon Unitarian teachings, defining them as “German Unitarian.”

This position of being “German Unitarian” – and thus apart from other Unitarians – was preserved until quite recently. At times, this focus led the movement astray, resulting in German Unitarians supporting Aryan Germanic beliefs which were part of the National Socialist ideology. Attempts to preserve or revive these ideas continued until after the war. Resistance to these attempts came in particular from circles seeking closer contact with the international Unitarian movement. Ultimately, the latter were able to prevail. The decision to drop the “Deutsche” (German) from “Deutsche Unitarier,” thereby no longer insisting on being apart from international Unitarians, was finally made at the 2015 Annual Meeting in Worms. The upcoming EUT (European Unitarians Together) symbolically seals this agreement.  

Nevertheless, we believe that we – as a religious community – can still offer something uniquely our own within this larger community. For us, this is the key thought behind the universal one: that we, as individuals, are part of an inconceivable oneness with the world around us, with our fellow humans, with all living things, with Nature, the Earth, the cosmos and everything as an all-encompassing whole. To us, this is the “transcending mystery and wonder affirmed in all cultures, which moves us to a renewal of the spirit and an openness to the forces which create and uphold life.” (wording of the Unitarian Universalist Association) To us, this is the universal one, the “unitas” connecting us as Unitarians. Today, it has become very difficult to still experience this “unitas” in the face of our growing isolation, which is why we want to form a community which encourages and supports us in this.

Today, we make up only a small religious association in Germany, with few congregations and fairly disparate members. This poses great difficulties and means that we are still looking for solutions. However, it has not affected our belief in the “unitas”.

Jochen Sonn

Ihre Gastgeber

Der erste Europäische Unitariertag – EUT wird gemeinsam von den
Unitariern – Religionsgemeinschaft freien Glaubens e.V. (URfG)
und den
European Unitarian Universalists (EUU)
veranstaltet.

Nachfolgend finden Sie Kurzportraits von URfG und EUU.

Über die EUU

Die European Unitarian Universalists (EUU), gegründet 1982, ist religiöse Gemeinschaft und religiöses Netzwerk. Sie verbindet Unitarian Universalists (UUs) and UU-Gemeinden in Europa. Etwa die Hälfte ihrer rund 200 Mitglieder gehört Gemeinden an, die von Laien geführt werden und Ressourcen und Programme gemeinsam nutzen.

Zu diesen Programmen gehört auch das Kinder- und Jugendkonzept der religiösen Erkundung (Religious Education kurz RE). Die übrigen Mitglieder, die sogenannten At-large-Mitglieder, verteilen sich auf fast ganz Europa, gehören dabei jedoch keiner bestimmten Gemeinde an.
Die EUU veröffentlicht regelmäßig ein Mitteilungsblatt, den „Unifier“, und veranstaltet halbjährliche Zusammenkünfte (Retreats) an wechselnde Orten. Die letzten Retreats in Belgien, Frankreich, den Niederlanden und Deutschland wurden von jeweils bis zu 180 UUs aus ganz Europa besucht.

Die Mitglieder der EUU vereinbaren, folgende Werte und Grundsätze anzuerkennen und zu fördern:

  • Den angeborenen und von Natur gegebenen Wert und die Würde jedes Menschen,
  • Gerechtigkeit, Gleichheit und Mitgefühl in allen zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen,
  • gegenseitige Anerkennung und Ermutigung zu spiritueller Weiterentwicklung innerhalb unserer Gemeinden,
  • eine freie und verantwortungsbewusste Suche nach Wahrheit und Sinnhaftigkeit,
  • das Recht auf Wahrhaftigkeit in Gewissensfragen und den Gebrauch von demokratischen Verfahren, das Ziel einer Weltgemeinschaft mit Frieden, Freiheit und Gerechtigkeit für alle,
  • Achtung und Respekt vor dem Zusammenhang allen Seins.

Die gemeinsame Tradition beruht auf vielen Quellen. Diese sind:

  • Unmittelbare Erfahrungen mit den in allen Kulturen vorhandenen transzendentalen Mysterien, die uns zu geistiger Erneuerung und Offenheit für alle Leben spendenden und wahrenden Kräfte bewegen,
  • Worte und Taten prophetischer Frauen und Männer, die uns herausfordern, den Mächten und Strukturen des Bösen mit Gerechtigkeit, Mitgefühl und der transformierenden Macht der Liebe zu begegnen,
  • Weisheiten der Weltreligionen, die uns in unserem ethischen und spirituellen Leben inspirieren,
  • jüdische und christliche Lehren, die uns dazu aufrufen, die Liebe Gottes so zu erwidern, dass wir unseren Nachbarn lieben wie uns selbst,
  • humanistische Lehren, die uns raten, sich von Vernunft und Erkenntnissen der Wissenschaft leiten zu lassen und vor geistigem und spirituellem Götzendienst warnen,
  • spirituelle und herkömmliche Lehren und Traditionen, die Natur und Erde in den Mittelpunkt stellen, den unverbrüchlichen und heiligen Kreislauf des Lebens feiern und uns lehren, in Harmonie mit der Natur zu leben.

Über die URfG

Die Unitarier – Religionsgemeinschaft freien Glaubens hat ihren Ursprung im 19. Jahrhundert in der freiprotestantischen Bewegung im Rhein-Hessischen. Die Freiprotestanten lehnten sich auf gegen die Unterordnung unter die Kir­chenhoheit der damaligen Landesfürsten und gegen Dogmen und Gebräuche, die Vernunft und Frei­heit widersprachen. 1876 traten sie aus der hessischen Landeskirche aus und bildeten eigene Ge­meinden.

Schon früh vertraten sie ein Gottesbild, das mit der personalen und Welt-abgelösten kirchlichen Auffassung Gottes brach und beschrieben Gott als der Natur innewohnendes „All-Le­ben“. 1910 kam ihr Pfarrer Walbaum in Kontakt zu den Gedanken und Persönlichkeiten der angel­sächsischen Unitarier. In deren Ablehnung der Dreieinigkeitslehre sah er Ähnlichkeiten zur freipro­testantischen Lehre von der „All-Einheit“ Gottes und dessen Wirken im „sittlichen Streben des Menschen“. Er sah in den eigenen freiprotestantischen Auffassungen eine „Verdichtung“ der angel­sächsisch unita­rischen Lehren und definierte dies als „deutsch-unitarisch“.

Diese deutsch-unitari­sche Sonderstellung blieb lange bestehen bis in die jüngste Vergangenheit hin­ein. Zunächst führte sie in die Irre der Mitwirkung am nationalsozialistischen Gedankengut arisch germanischer Religio­sität und auch nach dem Krieg hat es noch Versuche gegeben, an solchem Gedankengut festzuhalten oder es wieder zu beleben. Der Widerstand dagegen kam gera­de aus den Mitgliederkreisen, die stärker den Kontakt zur internationalen unitarischen Bewegung suchten. Sie konnten sich schließ­lich durchsetzen. Auf der Hauptversammlung 2015 in Worms wurde endgültig beschlossen, sich nicht mehr als „Deutsche“ Unitarier von den internationalen Unitariern abzugren­zen. Der jetzt stattfindende Europäische Unitariertag besiegelt diese Einordnung demonstrativ.

Dennoch meinen wir, dass wir als Religionsgemeinschaft in diese Vereinigung noch etwas Eigenes einbringen können. Es ist dies der für uns prägende Gedanke der All-Einheit. Dass es für uns als einzelne Personen diese unfassbare Einheit gibt mit der Welt um uns her, mit unseren Mitmenschen, allem Le­ben, mit unserer Umwelt, der Erde, dem Kosmos und alledem als umfassend Ganzes, das ist für uns das „transzendente Geheimnis und Wunder, bekräf­tigt in allen Kulturen, das uns bewegt zu einer Erneuerung des Geistes und zur Offenheit gegenüber al­len Kräften, die Leben schaffen und erhalten“ (Formulierung der Unitarian Universalist Association). Das ist für uns das All-Eine, die „Unitas“, die uns verbindet. Und weil es heutzutage in unsrer wachsenden Vereinzelung so schwer ist noch Zeichen dieser Unitas wahrzunehmen, wollen wir eine Gemeinschaft bilden, die uns darin fördert und be­stärkt.

Wir sind in Deutschland nur noch eine kleine Religionsgemeinschaft mit wenigen Gemein­den und eher weit übers Land verstreuten Gläubigen. Das macht uns einige Schwierigkeiten und wir sind noch immer auf der Suche nach Lösungsmöglichkeiten. Aber unser Glaube an die Unitas ist davon nicht betroffen.

Jochen Sonn